• Wanderlust Yoga & Adventures

The Seven Chakras - why are they important to us?

Updated: Feb 9

The seven chakras are the main energy centres of the body. You’ve probably heard people talk about “unblocking” their chakras, which refers to the idea that when all of our chakras are open, energy can run through them freely, and harmony exists between the physical body, mind, and spirit. Chakra translates to “wheel” in Sanskrit, and you can imagine them like spinning wheels of free-flowing positive energy.

Keeping this in mind, working with a particular chakra colour can help you draw that colour’s energy—or frequency—into your life.

When bringing the chakras into your practice try and visualise that chakra as a sphere of light that exists in your body - visualise it becoming stronger and more vibrant with each breath. There are 7 primary chakras and more than 100 subtle chakras present in the body.

Chakras are the building blocks of our energetic anatomy. In the same way that physical anatomy comprises muscles, bones and other physical structures, our energetic anatomy is made up of Prana, nadis and chakras.

Prana - life-force energy — where there is life, there is Prana.

Nadis - are channels or pathways through which Prana energy flows

Chakras - can be thought of as wheels that regulate this flow.

In essence, chakras are centres of concentrated energy within the body where matter and consciousness meet.

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The root chakra represents our foundation. On the human body, it sits at the base of the spine and gives us the feeling of being grounded. When the root chakra is open, we feel confident in our ability to withstand challenges and stand on our own two feet. When it’s blocked, we feel threatened, as if we’re standing on unstable ground.

Location: Base of spine, in tailbone area

What it controls: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food

Colour: Red

2. Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)

The sacral chakra helps inform how we relate to our emotions and the emotions of others. It also governs creativity and sexual energy. Those with a blocked sacral chakra could feel a lack of control in their lives.

Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel

What it controls: Your sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, and sexuality

Colour: Orange

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The third chakra, the solar plexus chakra, speaks to your ability to be confident and in control of your life. Think back to the last time you had butterflies or felt a pit in the stomach: That’s the Manipura chakra at work. If your solar plexus chakra is blocked, you might feel shame and self-doubt.

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area

What it controls: Self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem

Colour: Yellow

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The heart chakra is the bridge between the lower chakras (associated with materialism) and the upper chakras (associated with spirituality). As the name suggests, this chakra can influence our ability to give and receive love—from others and ourselves. Someone with a blocked heart chakra will have difficulty fully opening up to the people in their life. If someone’s heart is open, they can experience deep compassion and empathy.

Location: Centre of chest, just above the heart

What it controls: Love, joy, and inner peace

Colour: Green

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

The throat chakra gives voice to the heart chakra and controls our ability to communicate our personal power. When it’s functioning at full capacity, it allows us to express ourselves truly and clearly. Someone with a blocked throat chakra will feel like they have trouble finding the words to say how they truly feel.

Location: Throat

What it controls: Communication, self-expression, and truth

Colour: Light Blue/Turquoise

6. Third-Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The third-eye chakra controls our ability to see the big picture and connect to intuition. Think of it as the eye of the soul, it registers information beyond the surface level.

Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra)

What it controls: Intuition, imagination, and wisdom

Colour: Dark Blue/Purple

7. Crown Chakra (Samsara or Sahasrara)

The crown chakra, the highest chakra, sits at the crown of the head and represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. When you fully open your crown chakra—something very few people ever do! —you are able to access a higher consciousness.

Location: The very top of the head

What it controls: Inner and outer beauty, spiritual connection

Colour: Violet/White

10 views0 comments